Steven Shield Cross Country

Posted on: 31/10/2013

Wednesday 23rd October  saw 780+ runners from Year 3 through to Year 11 descend on Great Torrington Rugby Club as we hosted the Steven Shield Cross-Country Championships. Congratulations to Miss Rebecca Gilchirst and her team, ably helped by the Great Torrington Sports Leaders, for organising such a highly successful event. Thanks also to our Mr Avery for getting the place so well set up and for Mr Bealy and Torrington Rugby Club for giving us permission to use the ground to put together such a fantastic course.
It was perfect weather for running as runners readied themselves for the runs around Torrington.  There was a buzz of excitement as the crowds gathered at the start line ready to be sent on their way round the course.  The cross country is run as a team event. The atmosphere of the parents and their children cheering and encouraging their school around the course was fantastic.  All pupils showed team spirit and the desire to complete the course with determination we were very proud to see you cross the finish line. 

Team Event Results - Primary School and name of first place winner
Year 3 Boys Team: 1st Gateway Federation 2nd East The Water 3rd Sutcombe Primary School / Winner of the race: Ben Tolson Monkleigh

Year 3 Girls: 1st East the Water/ Winner of the race: Isabel Beer Monkleigh 

Year 4 Boys: 1st Gateway Federation 2nd Woolacombe 3rd Bradworthy /Winner of the race: Cohen Phillips Landkey

Year 4 Girls: 1st Bradworthy 2nd Pilton Bulecoat 3rd East the Water /Winner of the race Maddie Old Bradworthy

Year 5 Boys: 1st Landkey 2nd Woolacombe 3rd East the Water /Winner of the race: Sam Copsey Landkey

Year 5 Girls: Sticklepath 2nd Halwill 3rd Gatweay Federation/ Winner of the race: Mya form Pilton (No surname known)

Year 6 Boys: Gateway Federation 2nd Woolacombe 3rd Monkleigh/ Winner of the race: Ben Woodland from Woolacombe

Year 6 Girls: Sticklepath 2nd Woolacombe 3rd East the Water/ Winner of the race: Shae Miles from Woolacombe 

Secondary School Results 
1st - Park 50 ½ 
2nd - Great Torrington School 46 ½ 
3rd - Braunton 42 
4th - Bideford 40 
5th West Buckland 37 
6th - Pilton 34 
7th - Ilfracombe 23 ½ 
8th - Chumleigh 14 ½ 

First place winners 
Year 7 Boys: Winner: Joel Kirby Braunton 
Year 7 Girls: Winner: Charlotte Sutton Chulmleigh 
Year 8 Boys: Miles Rees Ilfracombe 
Year 8 Girls: Holly Martin Holsworthy 
Year 9 Boys: Euan Kernahan Chumleigh 
Year 9 Girls: Annabelle Heath West Buckland 
Year10/11 Boys: Bug Hall West Buckland 
Year 10/11 Girls: Martika Gallagher Park 


Click Here to close