Guided Choices 2017 - Year 8 - page 6

The main principles of the reform are as follows:
‘New’ GCSEs will follow a linear structure – all exams will be taken in
the summer of Year 11. Resits
will not
be available (apart from in
November for students in Y12 or above).
Coursework will be removed from almost all GCSE subjects. Assess-
ment will be conducted by external examiners as much as possible.
Some subjects, such as Geography and the Sciences will retain a
fieldwork or practical element, though this will be assessed within the
terminal exam only.
‘New’ GCSEs will be graded using numbers rather than letters—
grades 1 - 9 (9 being the highest and equivalent to A*)
Tiered examinations (i.e. availability of Foundation and Higher level)
will not generally be available. Tiers are being kept in Maths (where
the Foundation tier will offer the opportunity for students to achieve
grades 1 – 5, and the Higher tier will access grades 4 – 9).
There will also be content changes in many subjects, for example the
requirement that all students study a nineteenth-century novel in
English, and other assessment changes, such as a greater focus on
spelling, punctuation and grammar in the awarding of marks.
There will still be vocational qualifications available. These will be
awarded at Level 2 or Level 1. A Level 2 path will be equivalent to a
GCSE grade 5-9 but will be reported as a Pass, Merit, Distinction and
Distinction*. These courses will usually have a high coursework
content and a shorter examination.
Current intentions for new GCSE grading structure:
We now know that the new threshold standard for a ‘Good
pass’ (currently a C grade) will be a grade 5.
New GCSEs from 2016/17
Dream, Believe, Achieve
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,...35
Powered by FlippingBook