Spring Newsletter 2015 - page 6

Eyes are the
window of the soul
Year 9 produced some absolutely amazing
eye paintings this term.
Paintings by: Alfie Stevens, Alice Heywood,
Emily Herbert, Aria Pascoe,
Cameron McDonald, James Guzman,
Jazzmine Dennis, Caitlyn Stacey,
Matthew Grey, Molly McCann and
Maya Robbins
GTS's Eco-Committee has
recently been awarded the
Bronze Eco Award. The Eco-
Committee consists of pupils
from varying year groups, an
Eco-Coordinator, a member of
Senior Leadership Team, and
the Site Manager, who are all
enthusiastic about making the
school more sustainable.
The award is granted by focusing on a variety of nine factors,
which makes up the overall efficiency of the school, creating a
display board and having a reasonably sized Eco-Committee. The
factors are determined by the school carrying out an
environmental review which studies these nine factors, which are:
Energy, Litter, Waste / Recycling, Water, Transport, Healthy Living,
Biodiversity, School Grounds and Global Citizenship, all leading to
a greater understanding of the issues facing the school.
As a result of the environmental review, the school has
implemented new recycling bins in every classroom and has
started a campaign to have lights that are not being used switched
off, which will reduce the school's energy usage. GTS already has
solar panels which generate some electricity for the school and,
through frequent campaigning, also encourage both staff and
pupils to recycle and to not litter. GTS is looking forward and is
now striving to achieve the Silver Eco Award.
Lois Stone, Year 11
GTS Gymnasts scoop
awards at the North
Devon Schools
Gymnastics Competition
Hundreds of gymnasts from around North Devon
were in action at the Falcons Gymnastic
Academy, Barnstaple, Saturday 21st March, for
the North Devon Schools Gymnastics
GTS entered two U13 novice teams and one U13
Intermediate team, that came in 2nd place.
Jess Gluzman came 1st overall for the U13
category and also won The Charlotte Shaw
Memorial Trophy, for grace, elegance and poise.
Kelsi Hill-Meldrum won the smiley trophy for
beaming her way through the competition.
Congratulations to Erin Mahoney, Emily Tyrrell,
Amy Davey, Olivia Seward, Abby Carter, Bethany
Stacey, Jodie Rowcliffe, Kelsi Hill-Meldrum,
Kathryn Mitchell and Jessica Gluzman.
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10,11,12
Powered by FlippingBook