Guided Choices 2016 - Year 8 - page 6

The main principles of the reform are as follows:
‘New’ GCSEs will follow a linear structure – all exams will be taken in
the summer of Year 11. Resits will not be available (apart from in
November for students in Y12 or above).
Coursework will be removed from almost all subjects. Assessment
will be conducted by external examiners as much as possible. Some
subjects, such as Geography and the Sciences will retain a fieldwork
or practical element, though this will be assessed within the terminal
exam only.
‘New’ GCSEs will be graded using numbers rather than letters – the
diagram below shows how this is currently intended to work.
Tiered examinations (i.e. availability of Foundation and Higher level)
will not generally be available. Tiers are being kept in Maths (where
the Foundation tier will offer the opportunity for students to achieve
grades 1 – 5, and the Higher tier will access grades 5 – 9).
There will also be content changes in many subjects, for example the
requirement that all students study a nineteenth-century novel in
English, and other assessment changes, such as a greater focus on
spelling, punctuation and grammar in the awarding of marks.
Current intentions for new GCSE grading structure:
We now know that the new threshold standard for a ‘Good
pass’ (currently a C grade) will be a grade 5.
New GCSEs from 2016/17
Dream, Believe, Achieve
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10-11,12,13,14,15,16,17,...37
Powered by FlippingBook